All American Rejection

Rejection.  It is hard to hear this word and have positive thoughts.  A couple of weeks ago, I submitted a portion of the main novel I have been working on to another publisher, just to see what kind of response I might get.  Up to this point, I have only submitted to one other, and they are interested in it, I even have a contract to sign whenever I am ready.

So you would think, when this second publishing company, sent me a rejection letter this week, that it wouldn’t have left the mark that it did.  Let me tell you, if you have not ever received a letter that begins with Dear -Wanna Be Author who just put themselves out there for your personal approval- (And I am paraphrasing here, I hope no one ever responds to me in that way!), no matter if you have been accepted by someone else, it still hurts.  Like a blow to the gut.  But here’s the thing.  Rejection doesn’t mean the end of your writing career.  It shouldn’t have to mean that.

See, I did a little research (and I have good friends who point these things out to me) and some amazing authors, of books most of us have probably read at least a few of, were all rejected, not just once, but several times.  J.K. Rowling, perhaps you have heard of her? Harry Potter And The Sorcerers Stone was rejected 12 times and she was told not to quit her day job, Louisa May Alcott, rejected and told she was better off continuing her career as a teacher.  A Wrinkle In Time, one of my favorite books growing up, 26 rejection letters!  Dune, another great one, was told no 23 times!  Imagine what our world would be like without these books, or any of the other books out there that their authors had to fight to get published.

If these writers, who are well known, and beloved by so many, can take 23 rejection letters, and still keep moving forward, then I can too.  Rejection should be about propelling yourself further ahead, to work harder to create something great.  Not to mention, that these days, you can take publishing into your own hands.  There are some fantastic options out there for the self-publisher, and yes it takes a little more work, the editing, formatting, and cover art falls on the author, but that also means total control.  Which isn’t a bad thing.

Moral of the story? If you believe in your writing, no matter how many times you are told no, you can’t let it change YOUR ending.  I know I won’t let it change mine.

 

Much Love ❤

Shayna

Standard

Leave a Reply

